Saturday, August 16, 2014

Flying Lotus shares new Captain Murphy song | Cosplay

When he’s not deftly blending the worlds of electronic music, jazz, and IDM, super-producer Flying Lotus indulges his rhyme-slaying skills as the mysterious Captain Murphy. FlyLo’s identity as the rappin’ captain was the source of great mystery following the project’s emergence in early 2012, before he outed himself with the project’s first official release, the Duality mixtape.

Just yesterday, Flying Lotus announced the release of You’re Dead!, which promises two tracks featuring Captain Murphy. In anticipation, he’s shared a standalone single called “Cosplay” as part of the 2014 installment of Adult Swim’s Singles Program.

The track continues with the same kind of dense, brooding vibe FlyLo/Murphy started with Duality. His vocals are somewhere between a serpentine whisper and a pitchy, almost demonic cackle, an aesthetic further heightened by the haunted house piano, creaking bass, and swirling studio effects. Lyrically, he’s all over the map, dropping references about zombies and interplanetary travel, while managing to sneak in disheartening lines like “Cosplay like she nerdy … prefer it when she hurt me.” Cosplay, it ain’t just for dweebs.

To accompany the announcement, Adult Swim and Flying Lotus recently teamed up to create an animated origins story for Captain Murphy. It’s an intriguing and insightful story about maturity, self-assurance, and, um, scorpion sex. According to Noisey, the soundtrack is comprised of snippets of new Flying Lotus material. Watch it below.

You’re Dead! is due out October 7th via Warp Records. It’s also to feature Kendrick Lamar, Herbie Hancock, Snoop Dogg, and more. Check out its audiovisual teaser here.

You’re Dead! Tracklist:

01. Theme
02. Tesla (feat. Herbie Hancock)
03. Cold Dead
04. Fkn Dead
05. Never Catch Me (feat. Kendrick Lamar)
06. Dead Man’s Tetris (feat. Captain Murphy & Snoop Dogg)
07. Turkey Dog Coma
08. Stirring
09. Coronus, the Terminator
10. Siren Song (feat. Angel Deradoorian)
11. Turtles
12. Ready Err Not
13. Eyes Above
14. Moment of Hesitation (feat. Herbie Hancock)
15. Descent Into Madness (feat. Thundercat)
16. The Boy Who Died in Their Sleep (feat. Captain Murphy)
17. Obligatory Cadence
18. Your Potential // The Beyond (feat. Niki Randa)
19. The Protest

The 2014 Singles Program, meanwhile, has already featured Giorgio Moroder, Speedy Ortiz, Future, Diarrhea Planet, Machindrum, and Sleep, who offered up their first new track in 20 years, The Singles Program will continue each Monday for the next five weeks and features new music from Run The Jewels, Mastodon, Deafheaven, and more. Consult the full schedule below.

Week 12 (August 25th) – Deafheaven
Week 13 (September 1st) – RP Boo
Week 14 (September 8th) – Mastodon (feat. Butthole Surfers’ Gibby Haynes)
Week 15 (September 15th) – Run The Jewels
Week 16 (September 22nd) – KA

No comments:

Post a Comment